Skip to main content

🚨 RealChat is currently only available to users in Ireland, Australia, and Canada. If you're fortunate to have access to RealChat but your friend doesn't, you won't be able to kickstart a conversation with them 🚨. 

 

RealChat is BeReal's messenger for deeper connections. Connect meaningfully and spontaneously.

You can only RealChat with your friends. If you remove a friend with whom you have an ongoing RealChat, the RealChat will remain, but you will no longer be able to send messages.

 

Chat_Detail_Debut.png

 

It’s important to highlight that messages are not end-to-end encrypted. Trust, safety, and openness lie at the core of BeReal's principles, and RealChat has been developed as a messaging service that prioritizes user protection. Be mindful of what you send.

 

Starting a RealChat

RealChat is currently rolling out. If you have access to RealChat but your friend doesn't, you won't be able to begin a conversation with them. 

There are two ways to start a conversation on RealChat; directly from the RealChat icon at the top of the 'My Friends' timeline or directly from a friend’s BeReal.

From the RealChat Icon 

  1. Go to ‘My Friends’ feed.
  2. Tap the RealChat icon at the top of the screen.
  3. Tap the ➕  icon at the top of the screen.
  4. Select the friend you wish to chat with by tapping on their name.

From a friend’s BeReal

  1. Go to any one of your friend’s BeReal on the ‘My Friends’ feed.
  2. Tap the RealChat icon in the lower right corner above the comment icon.
  3. Add a message if you want.
  4. Send the BeReal and message to your friend.

If you’re already messaging a friend on RealChat, all you need to do is open the chat screen and tap their name to pick things up from where you left off.

 

Delete a RealChat conversation

You can delete an individual RealChat message or an entire conversation.

If you delete a RealChat message or entire conversation, it will only be deleted for you. That means the friend you were messaging with will still have their copy of the message or entire conversation. Keep in mind that the person on the other end will still have complete access to the entire RealChat conversation.

Deleted RealChat messages cannot be restored. If you delete a message or entire conversation you will not be able to retrieve a copy of that message or entire conversation as part of your data requests. You’ve been warned!

To delete a RealChat message

  1. Open the RealChat conversation.
  2. Long press the message you wish to delete. 
  3. Tap the option to delete. 

To delete an entire RealChat conversation

  1. Open the RealChat conversation you wish to delete.
  2. Tap the three-dot menu in the top right corner.
  3. Tap the delete option.
  4. Confirm your choice. 

 

Report a RealChat Message

You can report a message that you believe violates our policies and our support team will review it as quickly as possible. Where a person sends messages that violate our policies, we will take swift action and suspend users who repeatedly violate our policies.

To report a RealChat message

  1. Tap and hold the RealChat message you want to report.
  2. Select the report option.
  3. Choose the reason for reporting the message.
  4. Provide any additional details that may help us understand and investigate your report.
  5. Submit your report.

Note, we also reserve the ability to keep a copy of messages that contains content that violates certain of our policies (e.g., terrorism, drugs, child sexual exploitation, nudity, etc) and may be required to share such content with the authorities.

Was this article helpful?
2174 out of 2926 found this helpful