Skip to main content

RealGroups provide a special space for you to connect with your friends and family. Create and share private moments, and even decide when to send the group ⚠️It’s Time to BeReal.⚠️ notification with invite-only groups.

To access RealGroups, simply go to the top of the 'My Friends' feed. You can only be a member of two groups – quality over quantity – at a time, but it's easy to join, leave, or create a new one. More on that below.

It’s important to highlight that messages are not end-to-end encrypted. Trust, safety, and openness lie at the core of BeReal's principles, and RealGroups has been developed as a messaging service that prioritizes user protection. Be mindful of what you send.

 

Create a RealGroup

If you create a group, you become the admin. Currently, there is no option to transfer the admin status to another member of the group.

  1. From the top of the ‘My Friends’ feed, tap the ➕icon under 'Groups'. If you can't see the icon, it's because you've already joined two groups, which is the maximum allowed. In that case, you'll need to leave one of your existing groups before creating a new one. More on that below.
  2. A group emoji is set at random. Tap it if you wish to change it.
  3. Give the group a name. Keep it clean!
  4. Choose how often you want the group to receive the Time to BeReal notification.
  5. Finally, invite at least one friend!

Groups Intro.png

 

Add a user to an existing RealGroup

Only admins can add users to a group.

  1. From the group chat, tap the three-dot menu in the top right.
  2. Under ‘Members’ tap the option to add.
  3. Tap on the friends you want to become members and tap ‘Add’ in the top right.

If you re-add someone to the group, they’ll see all the messages sent during their time away.

Create Group – Members.png

 

Join a RealGroup

When you are added to a group, you will get a notification. You can either join the group by selecting ‘Join Group’ or decide later by tapping ‘Not Now’. To view your pending friend invitations, tap the arrow next to 'Groups' located at the top of your 'My Friends' feed.

Home – 2 Groups.png

 

Clear a RealGroup

Clearing a group chat will only delete the messages for you.

  1. From the group chat, tap the three-dot menu in the top right.
  2. Tap ‘Clear Group Chat’ at the bottom.
  3. Confirm your choice.

 

Leave a RealGroup

  1. From the group chat, tap the three-dot menu in the top right.
  2. Select the leave option.
  3. Confirm your choice

If an admin leaves a group chat, then the group chat is locked for all members. Once a group chat is locked, it cannot be reopened.

If a member who is not an admin leaves a group chat, the only way to access the chat again is if an admin adds you back.

 

Viewing past RealGroups

  1. Go to the top of your 'My Friends' feed.
  2. View previous groups you were a member of by tapping the arrow next to the 'Groups' heading.

Only the chat history from the time you join until you leave is visible. If you leave a group, you cannot rejoin it unless an admin adds you back.

 

Report a RealGroup

You can report a group that you believe violates our policies and our support team will review it as quickly as possible. If a person sends messages within a group that violate our policies, we will take swift action and suspend users who repeatedly violate our policies.

  1. From the group chat, tap the three-dot menu in the top right.
  2. Select the report option.
  3. Choose the reason for reporting the account.
  4. Provide any additional details that may help us understand and investigate your report.
  5. Submit your report.

Note, we also reserve the ability to keep a copy of messages that contain content that violates our policies (e.g., terrorism, drugs, child sexual exploitation, nudity, etc) and may be required to share such content with the authorities.

Was this article helpful?
1059 out of 1678 found this helpful