Skip to main content

Friend Recommendations

Your Recommended list can help you connect with other BeReal users you know, including friends new to BeReal. 

Recommended suggestions come from the following:

  • Having mutual friends in common (friends of friends).
  • Contacts that have been uploaded to BeReal, either by you or someone you know, which are then matched to you.

You can only view selected profile information for users appearing in your Recommended list (and it does not include your phone number). It is not possible to view the BeReals or Memories of recommended users.

We do our best to propose meaningful friend recommendations. If there’s someone you don’t know or don’t want to appear in your Recommended list, just tap X on the right of the recommendation, and then ‘Hide’. 

It goes without saying, but if you receive a friend request from someone you don’t know, don’t accept it. 

You can opt out of certain friend recommendations by not sharing your phone number and disabling contact syncing

Rest assured, user phone numbers are never shared with other users, including when friend invitations are accepted.

Was this article helpful?
310 out of 720 found this helpful